ESOP
VSOP
Examples
Solutions

Succession Planning with Employee Participation - an Early Instrument for Your Succession

Dr. Christopher Hahn
This article was last updated: 01.06.2023

Entrepreneurs do not simply retire: they hand over their company to a successor. However, the search for a suitable successor is becoming increasingly complicated for a variety of reasons. The greatest challenge lies in demographic change: There are too few potential successors. This is why today's entrepreneurs have to plan their company succession at an early stage. One possibility is to rely on the instrument of employee participation well in advance of the transfer of the company.

Background: Advantages of employee participation in relation to the transfer of a company

Among the major challenges in the search for business succession are the following aspects in particular:

  • Number of prospective buyers is lower than number of companies for sale
  • Financing the sale of a company is becoming increasingly complicated
  • Economic conditions are becoming increasingly difficult due to energy crisis, war and shortage of skilled workers

Depending on the form of employee participation, employee share ownership can cushion some of these aspects and thus contribute to a better success of the business transition. Since there are different forms of employee participation, the suitability of this instrument varies depending on the variant chosen, or the appropriate form of employee participation must be found for each specific company situation.

Overview: Forms of employee participation

Employee participation models offer benefits to both the company and the employees. Basically, it is always a matter of retaining employees in the company. Just as a company needs to retain customers to ensure long-term success, it also needs to retain skilled employees. This can be done in a variety of ways: Through a good working atmosphere, an appropriate salary, and the opportunity to directly or indirectly influence the success of the company and then also benefit from this success.

A basic distinction is made between tangible and intangible employee participation models. In the case of tangible employee participation models, employees are rewarded materially for good performance, long service to the company or other criteria. Intangible models of employee share ownership are primarily concerned with the entrepreneurial participation of employees. This can relate, for example, to the planning of new projects. However, there are also participation models that combine both aspects.

In addition, employee participation models can be designed in such a way that only individual employees, a specific group of people or all employees participate. Depending on which model is chosen, employee participation has different advantages for the company: These range from employee loyalty and identification with the company to a pre-selection instrument for a potential successor from among the company's own managers.

Corporate investments: The different models

The following is an overview of the most common models for tangible and intangible employee participation. Advantages and disadvantages are outlined. However, individual advice is always required on the basis of a precise examination of which model is particularly interesting for a specific company with a view to business succession.

‍Employee shares
This model of employee participation is only suitable for stock corporations. In this model, employees receive share packages as a reward or compensation element. Alternatively, employees can purchase shares at preferential conditions with their Christmas bonus, for example. Depending on the structure and performance of the shares, this form of employee participation involves a not inconsiderable tax risk for employees.

(Real) GmbH shares
In the case of a GmbH, it is possible to make employees shareholders with voting rights by giving them a stake in the company's share capital. This can take the form of an ESOP (Employee Stock Option Plan), for example. This gives the employees involved participation and control rights. This means that the employees become shareholders with all rights and obligations and, in the event of insolvency, generally face a total loss. Since the transfer of shares in the company must be notarized, this model of employee participation is very costly. However, it is well suited for making a preliminary selection among potential company successors.

Silent partnership
By means of a silent partnership, employees become shareholders in a company who have no co-determination rights. In principle, employees participate in both the profit and the loss of the company. However, the loss can be excluded.

Virtual employee stock ownership as a promising alternative (VSOP)
Due to the need for notarized contracts, genuine employee stock ownership often entails considerable cost and administrative effort. In addition, there is the tax risk for the employee. The benefits are often disproportionate for both sides, employee and employer. Virtual employee participation , also known as a VSOP agreement between employer and employee, can serve as an optimal alternative. The difference to "real" participation is that the employee does not become a shareholder in the company, but is placed in a monetary position through contractual agreements as if he were directly involved. He therefore has no shareholder rights, in particular no voting rights. However, he receives "profit distributions" and any exit proceeds as if he were a shareholder under company law.‍

Indirect genuine participation via investment company
In this employee participation model, employees become genuine shareholders - but "only" in an additionally established investment company. The investment company then has normal participation rights within the company. However, the employees as a whole are a shareholder. If the employees were to become shareholders in the company itself, there would be as many (additional) shareholders as there are participating employees. In the case of indirect genuine participation via an investment company, the administrative effort is therefore significantly minimized. In addition, potential company buyers are not deterred by a large number of shareholders. This instrument of employee participation therefore serves to bind employees to the company, but not primarily to (pre)select a potential successor.

Conclusion

The different models of employee participation pursue different goals. Employee share ownership can be used to support business succession at different levels or even to promote the search for business successors. It is also possible to combine different models of employee share ownership or to use different models for different hierarchical and personal groups. In this way, employee share ownership can support or even solve the following aspects of corporate succession:

  • Search for a suitable company successor from within the company's own ranks
  • Retention of skilled employees in the company so that the company successor(s):in knows the company is well positioned in this respect.
  • Direct or indirect participation of selected employees or the entire workforce, so that they can participate to a certain extent in the continuation of the entrepreneurial line even after a company transfer or can at least help shape a realignment.
  • Increase in employees' sense of responsibility (ownership)
  • Additional positive side effects such as increasing employee motivation and better opportunities for employee recruitment

Disclaimer: The contents of the information offered at esop-direkt.de do not constitute legal advice. If you require a legal review of your individual case, please contact our specialized team: beratung@esop-direkt.de

No items found.
Questions? Talk to our expert!
FREE CONSULTATION
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Lawyer & Author
Your expert for employee benefits
Questions? Talk to our expert!
FREE CONSULTATION
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Lawyer & Author
Your expert for employee benefits
Questions? Talk to our expert!
FREE CONSULTATION
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Lawyer & Author
Your expert for employee benefits
Questions? Talk to our expert!
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Lawyer & author, your expert on employee benefits
FREE CONSULTATION
ESOP & VSOP
As an employer, you may not form tax provisions in accordance with section 249 (1) sentence 1 HGB and section 6 (1) no. 3a letters a) and e). This is because, according to a landmark decision of the BFH dated March 15, 2017, file no. I R 11/15, classic VSOP agreements are obligations subject to a condition precedent.
Questions? Talk to our expert!
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Lawyer & author, your expert on employee benefits
FREE CONSULTATION
ESOP & VSOP
As an employer, you may not form tax provisions in accordance with section 249 (1) sentence 1 HGB and section 6 (1) no. 3a letters a) and e). This is because, according to a landmark decision of the BFH dated March 15, 2017, file no. I R 11/15, classic VSOP agreements are obligations subject to a condition precedent.
Questions? Talk to our expert!
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Lawyer & author, your expert on employee benefits
FREE CONSULTATION
ESOP & VSOP
As an employer, you may not form tax provisions in accordance with section 249 (1) sentence 1 HGB and section 6 (1) no. 3a letters a) and e). This is because, according to a landmark decision of the BFH dated March 15, 2017, file no. I R 11/15, classic VSOP agreements are obligations subject to a condition precedent.

You want to design the ideal program for your company?

We advise you and create your individual contracts!

Initial consultation without obligation and free of charge

From experienced entrepreneurs and corporate lawyers

With the experience of over 100 ESOP & VSOP programs.

Consent to the processing of my data: By sending the form, I consent to the processing of my data in accordance with the privacy policy. The data is required for processing my contact request and will not be passed on to third parties. I can revoke this consent at any time with effect for the future by declaration to ESOP1 GmbH.

Thank you for your inquiry,
we will get back to you in a timely manner.

For urgent questions, please contact +49 30 209 677 94
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

ESOP
VSOP
Beispiele
Lösungen

Nachfolgeregelung mit Mitarbeiterbeteiligungen - ein frühes Instrument für Ihre Nachfolge

Dr. Christopher Hahn
Dieser Artikel wurde zuletzt aktualisiert am: 01.06.2023

Unternehmer:innen gehen nicht einfach in Rente: Sie übergeben ihr Unternehmen an einen oder eine Nachfolger:in. Die Suche nach geeigneten Nachfolger:innen gestaltet sich jedoch aus vielfältigen Gründen immer komplizierter. Die größte Herausforderung liegt im demografischen Wandel begründet: Es gibt zu wenig potentielle Nachfolger:innen. Daher müssen Unternehmer:innen heute bereits frühzeitig die Unternehmensnachfolge planen. Eine Möglichkeit besteht darin, bereits weit im Vorfeld des Unternehmensübergangs auf das Instrument der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung zu setzen.

Hintergrund: Vorteile der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung in Bezug auf den Unternehmensübergang

Zu den großen Herausforderungen bei der Suche nach der Unternehmensnachfolge zählen insbesondere folgende Aspekte:

  • Zahl der Kaufinteressenten ist geringer als Zahl der zum Verkauf stehenden Unternehmen
  • Finanzierung des Unternehmensverkaufs wird immer komplizierter
  • Wirtschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen werden aufgrund von Energiekrise, Krieg und Fachkräftemangel immer schwieriger

Mitarbeiterbeteiligungen können, je nach Form der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung, einige dieser Aspekte abfedern und so zu einem besseren Gelingen des Unternehmensübergangs beitragen. Da es unterschiedliche Formen der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung gibt, eignet sich dieses Instrument je nach gewählter Variante unterschiedlich gut beziehungsweise muss für jede konkrete Unternehmenssituation die geeignete Form der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung gefunden werden.

Überblick: Formen der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung

Mitarbeiterbeteiligungs-Modelle bieten sowohl dem Unternehmen als auch den Mitarbeitenden Vorteile. Grundsätzlich geht es stets um die Bindung der Mitarbeitenden an das Unternehmen. Denn ebenso, wie ein Unternehmen für einen langfristigen Erfolg, Kunden an sich binden muss, muss es auch die Fachkräfte an sich binden. Dies kann auf unterschiedlichen Wegen geschehen: Über ein gutes Arbeitsklima, ein angemessenes Gehalt sowie die Möglichkeit, direkt oder indirekt auf den Erfolg des Unternehmens Einfluss zu nehmen und dann auch von diesem Erfolg zu profitieren.

Grundsätzlich wird zwischen den materiellen und den immateriellen Modellen zur Mitarbeiterbeteiligung unterschieden. Bei den materiellen Modellen zur Mitarbeiterbeteiligung geht es darum, dass Mitarbeitende für gute Leistungen, lange Unternehmenszugehörigkeit oder entsprechend anderer Kriterien materiell belohnt werden. Bei den immateriellen Modellen zu Mitarbeiterbeteiligung geht es vor allem um die unternehmerische Teilhabe der Mitarbeitenden. Dies kann sich beispielsweise auf die Planung neuer Projekte beziehen. Allerdings gibt es auch Beteiligungs-Modelle, die beide Aspekte vereinen.

Zudem können Mitarbeiterbeteiligungs-Modelle so ausgestaltet sein, dass nur einzelne Mitarbeitende, eine bestimmte Personengruppe oder aber alle Mitarbeitenden beteiligt werden. Je nachdem welches Modell hier gewählt wird, hat die Mitarbeiterbeteiligung für das Unternehmen unterschiedliche Vorteile: Diese reichen von der Bindung und Identifikation der Mitarbeitenden mit dem Unternehmen bis hin zu einer Vor-Auswahlinstrument für eine:n potenielle:n Unternehmensnachfolger:in aus den Reihen der eigenen Führungskräfte.

Unternehmensbeteiligungen: Die unterschiedlichen Modelle

Nachfolgend wird ein Überblick über die gängigsten Modelle zur materiellen und immateriellen Mitarbeiterbeteiligung gegeben. Vor- und Nachteile werden angerissen. Allerdings bedarf es stets einer individuellen Beratung auf der Basis einer genauen Prüfung, welches Modell für ein konkretes Unternehmen mit Blickrichtung auf eine Unternehmensnachfolge besonders interessant ist.

Belegschaftsaktien
Dieses Modell der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung eignet sich ausschließlich für Aktiengesellschaften. Bei diesem Modell erhalten Mitarbeitende als Belohnung oder Vergütungselement Aktienpakete. Alternativ bietet sich die Möglichkeit, dass Mitarbeitende Aktien mit beispielsweise dem Weihnachtsgeld zu Vorzugskonditionen erwerben können. Je nach Ausgestaltung und Entwicklung der Aktien bedeutet diese Form der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung ein nicht unerhebliches steuerliches Risiko für die Mitarbeitenden.

(Echte) GmbH-Anteile
Bei einer GmbH gibt es die Möglichkeit, Mitarbeitende über die Beteiligung am Stammkapital der Gesellschaft zu stimmberechtigten Gesellschafter:innen zu machen. Dies kann beispielsweise in Form eines ESOP (Employee Stock Option Plan) durchgeführt werden. So erhalten die beteiligten Mitarbeitenden Mitwirkungs- und Kontrollrechte. Das bedeutet, dass die Mitarbeitenden mit allen Rechten und Pflichten Gesellschafter werden und im Insolvenzfall in aller Regel mit einem Totalausfall rechnen müssen. Da die Übertragung der Gesellschaftsanteile notariell beurkundet werden muss, ist dieses Modell der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung sehr aufwändig. Es eignet sich jedoch gut, um eine Vorauswahl unter potentiellen Unternehmensnachfolger:innen zu treffen.

Stille Beteiligung
Über eine stille Beteiligung werden Mitarbeitende zu Gesellschafter:innen eines Unternehmens, die kein Mitbestimmungsrecht haben. Grundsätzlich werden die Mitarbeitenden sowohl am Gewinn als auch am Verlust des Unternehmens beteiligt. Allerdings kann der Verlust ausgeschlossen werden.

Die virtuelle Mitarbeiterbeteiligung als vielversprechende Alternative (VSOP)
Durch die Notwendigkeit notariell beurkundeter Verträge verursacht eine echte Mitarbeiterbeteiligung oft einen erheblichen Kosten- und Verwaltungsaufwand. Dazu kommt das Steuerrisiko für den Arbeitnehmer. Der Nutzen steht für beide Seiten, Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber, oft in keinem Verhältnis. Als optimale Alternative kann die virtuelle Mitarbeiterbeteiligung dienen, die auch als VSOP-Vereinbarung zwischen Arbeitgeber und Arbeitnehmer bekannt ist. Der Unterschied zur "echten" Beteiligung besteht darin, dass der Arbeitnehmer kein Gesellschafter des Unternehmens wird, sondern durch vertragliche Vereinbarungen monetär so gestellt wird, als wäre er direkt beteiligt. Er hat daher keine Gesellschafterrechte, insbesondere kein Stimmrecht. Jedoch erhält er "Gewinnausschüttungen" und eventuelle Exit-Erlöse wie ein gesellschaftsrechtlich Beteiligter.

Indirekte echte Beteiligung über Beteiligungsgesellschaft
Bei diesem Modell der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung werden die Mitarbeitenden echte Gesellschafter – allerdings „nur“ an einer zusätzlich gegründeten Beteiligungsgesellschaft. Die Beteiligungsgesellschaft hat dann innerhalb des Unternehmens normale Beteiligungsrechte. Allerdings sind die Mitarbeitenden in ihrer Gesamtheit ein Gesellschafter. Würden die Mitarbeitenden am Unternehmen selbst Gesellschafter werden, dann gäbe es so viele (zusätzliche) Gesellschafter wie es beteiligte Mitarbeitende gibt. Bei der indirekten echten Beteiligung über eine Beteiligungsgesellschaft wird daher der Verwaltungsaufwand deutlich minimiert. Außerdem fühlen sich potentielle Unternehmenskäufer:innen nicht von einer Vielzahl an Gesellschafter:innen abgeschreckt. Dieses Instrument der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung dient daher der Bindung der Mitarbeitenden an das Unternehmen, nicht jedoch vorrangig der (Vor-)Auswahl eines oder einer potentiellen Unternehmensnachfolge:in.

Fazit

Die unterschiedlichen Modelle der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung verfolgen unterschiedliche Ziele. Mitarbeiterbeteiligungen können genutzt werden, um Unternehmensnachfolgen auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen zu unterstützen oder sogar, um die Suche nach Unternehmensnachfolger:innen voranzutreiben. Es ist auch möglich, unterschiedliche Modelle der Mitarbeiterbeteiligung zu kombinieren beziehungsweise für unterschiedliche Hierarchie- und Personengruppen verschiedene Modelle einzusetzen. Auf diese Weise können durch Mitarbeiterbeteiligungen folgende Aspekte der Unternehmensnachfolge unterstützt oder sogar gelöst werden:

  • Suche nach einem oder einer geeigneten Unternehmensnachfolger:in aus den eigenen Reihen
  • Bindung der Fachkräfte an das Unternehmen, so dass der oder die Unternehmensnachfolger:in das Unternehmen in dieser Hinsicht gut aufgestellt weiß.
  • Direkte oder indirekte Beteiligung ausgewählter Mitarbeitender oder der Gesamtbelegschaft, so dass diese bis zu einem gewissen Grad an der Fortführung der unternehmerischen Linie auch nach einem Unternehmensübergang mitwirken können oder eine Neuausrichtung zumindest mitgestalten können.
  • Anstieg des Verantwortungsgefühls (Ownership) der Mitarbeiter:innen
  • Zusätzliche positive Nebeneffekte wie steigende Mitarbeitermotivation und bessere Chancen zur Mitarbeitergewinnung

Disclaimer: Die Inhalte des Informationsangebots unter esop-direkt.de stellen keine Rechtsberatung dar. Wenn Sie eine rechtliche Prüfung Ihres Einzelfalls benötigen, dann wenden Sie sich bitte an unserer spezialisiertes Team: beratung@esop-direkt.de

No items found.
Fragen? Sprechen Sie mit unserem Experten!
KOSTENFREIE BERATUNG
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Anwalt & Autor
Ihr Experte für Mitarbeiterbeteiligungen
Fragen? Sprechen Sie mit unserem Experten!
KOSTENFREIE BERATUNG
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Anwalt & Autor
Ihr Experte für Mitarbeiterbeteiligungen
Fragen? Sprechen Sie mit unserem Experten!
KOSTENFREIE BERATUNG
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Anwalt & Autor
Ihr Experte für Mitarbeiterbeteiligungen
Fragen? Sprechen Sie mit unserem Experten!
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Anwalt & Autor, Ihr Experte für Mitarbeiterbeteiligungen
KOSTENFREIE BERATUNG
ESOP & VSOP
Als Arbeitgeber dürfen Sie keine steuerlichen Rückstellungen nach § 249 Abs.1 Satz 1 HGB und § 6 Abs.1 Nr.3a Buchstabe a) und e) bilden. Denn nach einer Grundsatzentscheidung des BFH vom 15.03.2017, Az. I R 11/15 handelt es sich bei klassischen VSOP-Vereinbarungen um aufschiebend bedingte Verpflichtungen.
Fragen? Sprechen Sie mit unserem Experten!
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Anwalt & Autor, Ihr Experte für Mitarbeiterbeteiligungen
KOSTENFREIE BERATUNG
ESOP & VSOP
Als Arbeitgeber dürfen Sie keine steuerlichen Rückstellungen nach § 249 Abs.1 Satz 1 HGB und § 6 Abs.1 Nr.3a Buchstabe a) und e) bilden. Denn nach einer Grundsatzentscheidung des BFH vom 15.03.2017, Az. I R 11/15 handelt es sich bei klassischen VSOP-Vereinbarungen um aufschiebend bedingte Verpflichtungen.
Fragen? Sprechen Sie mit unserem Experten!
Dr. Christopher Hahn
Anwalt & Autor, Ihr Experte für Mitarbeiterbeteiligungen
KOSTENFREIE BERATUNG
ESOP & VSOP
Als Arbeitgeber dürfen Sie keine steuerlichen Rückstellungen nach § 249 Abs.1 Satz 1 HGB und § 6 Abs.1 Nr.3a Buchstabe a) und e) bilden. Denn nach einer Grundsatzentscheidung des BFH vom 15.03.2017, Az. I R 11/15 handelt es sich bei klassischen VSOP-Vereinbarungen um aufschiebend bedingte Verpflichtungen.

Sie möchten das ideale Programm für Ihre Firma gestalten?

Wir beraten Sie und erstellen Ihre individuellen Verträge!

Unverbindliche und kostenfreie Erstberatung

Von erfahrenen Unternehmern und Gesellschaftsrechtsanwälten

Mit der Erfahrung aus über 100 ESOP & VSOP Programmen

Einwilligung Verarbeitung meiner Daten: Mit Übersenden des Formulars willige ich in die Verarbeitung meiner Daten gemäß der Datenschutzerklärung ein. Die Daten werden zur Bearbeitung meiner Kontaktanfrage benötigt und nicht an Dritte weitergegeben. Diese Einwilligung kann ich jederzeit mit Wirkung für die Zukunft durch Erklärung gegenüber ESOP1 GmbH widerrufen.

Vielen Dank für Ihre Anfrage,
wir melden uns zeitnah bei Ihnen.

Bei dringenden Fragen wenden Sie sich gerne an +49 30 209 677 94
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.